Black Spot Books Announces ‘Into The Forest,’ A New Anthology from Women In Horror

Black Spot Books has announced Into the Forest, a new anthology written by some of today’s leading women in horror. Edited by Lindy Ryan, the book includes twenty-three original stories from New York Times bestselling authors, Bram Stoker Award® winners, and “freshly hatched” voices from around the globe. Featured contributors include Gwendolyn Kiste, Stephanie M. Wytovich, Mercedes M. Yardley, Monique Snyman, Donna Lynch, Lisa Quigley, and R. J. Joseph, with an introduction by Christina Henry. The collection also features a poem from Bram Stoker Award® winning poet, Stephanie M. Wytovich.


Reflective of the wild and temperamental nature of the Baba Yaga, the stories in Into the Forest range from dark fantasy and folklore to horror as each go deep in the dark forest, to a cottage that spins on birds’ legs behind a fence topped with human skulls. A guardian of the water of life, Baba Yaga lives with her sisters and takes to the skies in a giant mortar and pestle. Those who come across Baba Yaga may find help, or hinderance, or horror, and each story reflects the diverse and inclusive experiences of women as they look to Baba Yaga as their muse.

Editor Lindy Ryan says:

“Whether readers are meeting Baba Yaga for the first time, or this is one of many trips to her familiar chicken-legged hut, we invite you to journey with us to meet the witch who waits deep in the forest. These stories are, like Baba Yaga herself, limitless and unpredictable. They are wild. They are fierce. And they are feminine. These are the voices of women in horror—hear them.”

It will be available November 8, 2022.

About Christine Burnham

When not writing, Christine Burnham is watching TV, Horror films, reading, cooking, and spending time with her menagerie of animals.

Check Also

Trailer Drops For ‘BOY KILLS THE WORLD’ (2024)

A new trailer has dropped for the new horror/thriller directed by Moritz Mohr (Viva Berlin …