HollyShorts Film Festival

HollyShorts Film Festival Announces Their Esteemed 2020 Jury

HollyShorts Film Festival has assembled a revered group of over 40 industry leaders to judge the 16th edition of the festival. The 30 awards, including the three Oscar®-Qualifying categories Grand Prix Best Short Film, Best Live Action, and Best Animation, will be announced during the virtual Awards Ceremony on Sunday, November 15th at 5:00 pm PST. 

HollyShorts Film Festival

Get Out Executive Producer Shaun Redick (Founder, Impossible Dream Entertainment), Inherent Vice’s Yvette Yates Redick (Partner, Impossible Dream Entertainment), and Sharon Lawrence (NYPD Blue) have returned to judge the short film festival and will be joined by first-time judges including Tom Ortenberg (Open Road), HSFF alum Janina Gavankar (The Way Back), Dear White People producer Effie Brown, and writer Winter Tekenos-Levy who wrote for the multi-Emmy winning hit Schitt’s Creek

Industry leaders and executives on the 2020 Jury include SAGindie Executive Director Darrien Michele Gipson; Bobby Janic (Director of Development, VICE Media Canada); Cheryl L. Bedford, founder of Women of Color Unite; Documentary Filmmaker Barry Rubinow; Women in Film Board Member Ghen Laraya Long; Fanshen Cox DiGiovanni (Head of Strategic Outreach, Pearl Street Films); Producer Lena Bahrs; Treehouse Pictures’ Head of Development Juliet Berman; David Magdael (President, David Magdael & Associates, Inc.); Kalani Dreimanis (Director, International Sales, Epic Pictures Group); Neko-Productions Executive Producer Lirit Rosenzweig-Topaz; Literary Manager Zach Cox (Circle of Confusion); and Weiman Said (Principal, Fat Dot).

HollyShorts Film Festival

Acclaimed storytellers and artists joining HollyShorts 2020 Jury include Luka Peros (Money Heist); Jimmy Jean-Louis (Claws); Roger Guenveur Smith (Rodney King); Concept Artist and Illustrator Gary Villarreal; David Dastmalchian (The Suicide Squad); writer Bob Dearden (Cobra Kai S3); The Righteous Gemstones’ James DuMont; Pennyworth’s Hainsley Lloyd Bennett; Carmen Cabana (Director of Photography, Starz’s Vida); Adaku Ononogbo (Cursed); Doreen Spicer-Dannelly (Executive Producer, Onyx Monster Mysteries); Journalist and Critics Choice Association member Zorianna Kit; director SJ Main Muñoz (Chicago Med); Leah N.H. Philpott (Adventures of Rufus: The Fantastic Pet); Post-Production Coordinator Sue-Ellen Chitunya (Avengers: Infinity War); Luis De Filippis (Director, For Nonna Anna); Madeleine Moore (HeyDay TV), and Screenplay Contest Judges Abie Ekenezar, Andrea Hays, and Ben Andrews, founder of Seattle Film Summit.

About Tori Danielle

Tori has had a passion for Horror and music ever since she was a little girl. She got bit by the writing bug in high school where she was involved in both the school newspaper and the yearbook. While getting her Bachelors degree, she took Journalism and Creative Writing classes where her passion grew even stronger. Now, in between work and family, she spends all of her spare time indulging in music, Horror movies, and nerdy fandoms, all while running/assisting one of the biggest Horror groups on Facebook and writing for various websites.

Check Also

They Wait In The Dark (2022)

Coming Soon to Digital: Patrick Rea’s ‘THEY WAIT IN THE DARK’ (2022)

Coming soon to Digital from 1091 and director Patrick Rea (Nailbiter) is a new horror …