Fen - The Dead Light

UK Black Metal Act FEN Drops New Album ‘The Dead Light’

UK black metal act FEN are back with an all new album called The Dead Light! FEN is one of the UK’s most celebrated and critically praised black metal acts. This is the band’s 6th album, and it was produced in collaboration with Prophecy Productions. This new album promises to expand upon their signature, progressive atmospheric style, featuring a more riff-oriented approach.

Check out one of the new tracks from the album below, then read on for all the details!


From The FEN Press Release

On The Dead Light, Fen explore the beauty that comes from destruction. Representing the vanguard of contemporary UK post black metal, the band offers its heaviest, most direct album to date. It is the sixth full-length in a career of less than 15 years and marks another re-calibration for the three-piece that, while always daring to use unconventional structures, found that the predecessor Winter (2017) was the apex in this respect. “This time, we took on the creative challenge to say more in less time,” says co-founder The Watcher.

That does neither mean Fen lost their trademark sweeping melodies and atmosphere, nor does it suggest less progressive structures. If anything, the material shows the group at its most British. “I’m kind of old school, I love heavy metal,” the guitarist and singer explains regarding his more riff-oriented, straightforward approach that goes along with some more “outlandish” influences, ranging from Voivod circa Nothingface or Angel Rat towards latter-day Enslaved.

The result is a sound best described as “spectral, colder, sharper” according to the front man, which also translated into lyrics that revolve around the search for knowledge, symbolized by our upward look to the stars. “When we watch the sky, we basically travel into the past and literally see dead light – nuclear fire from exploded planets, annihilated civilizations.”

The Dead Light is available as Digipak CD, 2CD book edition (faux-leather hardcover, 18x18cm, 36 pages with preface, exclusive artwork and three bonus tracks) and gatefold 2LP (black and ltd. violet). The new album is available on Amazon now!

Check out the cover art below!

Fen - The Dead Light

FEN – The Dead Light Track Listing

01. Witness (5:55)
02. The Dead Light, Pt. 1 (7:12)
03. The Dead Light, Pt. 2 (3:19)
04. Nebula (7:05)
05. Labyrinthine Echoes (9:53)
06. Breath of Void (6:11)
07. Exsanguination (8:04)
08. Rendered in Onyx (9:36)
09. Monochromatic Ossuary (6:31)
10. Searching (3:44)
11. Echoes of the Crowpath (6:10)

Cool stuff! Any FEN fans out in PopHorror land? Have you snagged your copy of the new album? Tell us what you think in the comments!

About Kenn Hoekstra

PopHorror Writer. Associate Editor. @PopHorrorNews Tweeter. Also... Screenwriter. Blogger. Horror Movie Aficionado. Wisconsin Sports Fan. IT Guy. Father. Smartass. People's Champion. TIME Person of the Year - 2006.

Check Also

Coming Soon To Blu-ray And Digital: ‘My Best Friend Is A Vampire’

Coming soon to Blu-ray and Digital from Lionsgate and director Jimmy Huston (Final Exam): My …