2017 Screamfest L.A. Award Winners Announced!

The 17th Annual Screamfest Horror Film Festival just wrapped up in Los Angeles and we’ve got your winners right here! Tigers Are Not Afraid and The Lapace’s Demon were among the top honorees. Hollywood Producer and frequent Wes Craven collaborator Marianne Maddalena was honored with the festival’s Career Achievement Award.

Read on for all the details! 


About Screamfest (From The Official Press Release)

HOLLYWOOD, Calif. – Oct. 19, 2017 – America’s largest and longest running horror movie festival, Screamfest, awarded this year’s top movies, filmmakers and actors Thursday during the fest’s closing night. Screamfest, which ran from Oct. 10 – 19, 2017 at the TLC Chinese 6 Theatres in Hollywood, has launched careers – providing a platform for filmmakers and actors to showcase their latest work to horror film enthusiasts and general audiences.

The Lapace’s Demon received four awards, including Best Musical Score by Duccio Giulivi, Best Visual FX by Giordano Giulivi and Alessandro Zonfrilli, and Best Cinematography by Ferdinando D’Urbano.

Tigers Are Not Afraid received a festival high FIVE awards! Tigers took home Best Picture, Best Director – Issa López, Best Actor – Juan Ramón López, Best Actress – Paola Lara and Best Editing – Joaquim Marti.

Full List of Screamfest 2017 Winners

  • Best Director – Issa López – Tigers Are Not Afraid
  • Best Picture – Tigers Are Not Afraid
  • Horror Comedy – Dead Ant
  • Best Actor – Juan Ramón López – Tigers Are Not Afraid
  • Best Actress – Paola Lara – Tigers Are Not Afraid
  • Career Achievement Award – Marianne Maddalena
  • Best Visual FX  – Giordano Giulivi & Alessandro Zonfrilli – The Laplace’s Demon
  • Best Special FX –  Giordano Giulivi – The Laplace’s Demon
  • Musical Score – Duccio Giulivi – The Laplace’s Demon
  • Best Editing – Joaquim Marti – Tigers Are Not Afraid
  • Best Cinematography – Ferdinando D’Urbano – The Laplace’s Demon
  • Makeup – Creature Effects – Tragedy Girls
  • Best Short – Holy Fatma – Please Love Me Forever
  • Best Unproduced Screenplay – U-666 by Jacqueline Perez

We had the pleasure of seeing Best Horror Comedy winner Dead Ant. We loved it. You can read our review here. Based on this list, you can rest assured we’ll be bumping Tigers Are Not Afraid and The Laplace’s Demon to the top of our “must watch” lists!

Be sure to check out Screamfest on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube! For more information, visit or email

Which award winner are you most looking forward to seeing? Tell us in the comments!

About Kenn Hoekstra

PopHorror Writer. Associate Editor. @PopHorrorNews Tweeter. Also... Screenwriter. Blogger. Horror Movie Aficionado. Wisconsin Sports Fan. IT Guy. Father. Smartass. People's Champion. TIME Person of the Year - 2006.

Check Also

Happy 70th Birthday, Danny Elfman!

Danny Elfman is the kind of artist who, even if you have never heard of …